Faith for Something Beautiful

Fresh Manna
by Pastor Tim Burt

This past Saturday started out as a typical cool Spring rainy morning. Earlier in the week, I had raked and cleaned up last year’s dead plant foliage from my flower garden. I was now seeing the early Spring perennials begin to break the ground surface, racing to grow and become the first beauties that would adorn this year’s garden.

Things were looking pretty bare but I knew that in less than three weeks, more and more perennials would spring up and this years garden would be thriving and underway. This day I wanted to get seeds and bulbs in the ground while the soil was wet. Moisture is a key component to germination and growth. After a couple of hours of strategically laying down the seed and planting the bulbs, I looked out over my work. It seemed as though I had done nothing. You couldn’t see anything I had just planted as it was all put under the ground. Everything looked just like it did before I started planting.

It takes me a lot of time to plant my garden. Since part of it is seeding varieties of flowers that can take months before I see them flower, it takes faith that I am going to get the result I hope for. This is why I love gardening. Gardening is all about the exercise of your faith. It reminds me of my life’s work. So much of what I do is like planting seeds and having faith that they will grow into something beautiful. I write these devotions trusting and having faith that God will speak through what is written and help people. I work with people teaching them God’s Word hoping in faith that it will bring reassurance of His love toward them and transform their lives into something meaningful. I am continually creating small groups of people at church or planning events. I do all these things in faith that they will produce a diversity of blessings for many people.

I believe we all do things that require faith because we can’t always instantly see the results of our work. Faith is an every day, on-going part of life. God is to be the center of our faith. We lean on Him asking for His help and having faith that He cares for and will help us. AND HE WILL! First of all, our faith pleases God and secondly, it releases us from what we have no control over once we’ve done our part.

Hebrews 11:1 says, “What is faith? It is the confident assurance that what we hope for is going to happen. It is the evidence of things we cannot yet see.” Too often, people put their faith in themselves, their ability, and what they think they can accomplish. People of great achievement that are honest will tell you that many of the things that contributed to their success were things that worked out well but that they had no control over. That is supposed to bring them a sense of humility because they know that their success wasn’t all about what they did. For those that know and have faith in God, they can be honest and give God the glory and thanks. For those that don’t, they soak up the praise for what they know they don’t totally deserve. That will one day work against them.

I take a small seed that God has created and provided, and plant it in the ground. It turns into something beautiful. I really only had a small part. God made the seed and God created the process for its growth. I simply plant it and water it. God created the beauty with which it will be appreciated. My part is so small. His part is everything! Because of this, I have faith that what He tells me to do will produce a truly good result. When He instructs me in His Word, I pay attention. He is really the true gardener of our lives. I put my faith that the incorruptible seed of His Word that He plants in me will produce something beautiful! As a matter of fact, I know it will because it already has. And I’m sure it has in you too! So… have faith and let God the gardener plant His seed in you and you just water it in prayer! It will produce something beautiful.

Hebrews 11:6 “It is impossible to please God without faith. Anyone who wants to come to Him must believe that there is a God and that He rewards those who sincerely seek Him.”

(Click on picture to enlarge)

In His Love,
Pastor Tim Burt

Published by Pastor Tim Burt
Copyright© 2011 All rights reserved
todaysfreshmanna.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

