A Source of Supernatural Zest

Fresh Manna
by Pastor Tim Burt

Lethargic – defined as sluggish or lazy. We all know what it means. No one wants to see themselves as lethargic and yet everyone has their moments or seasons in life where they are feeling this way. If it’s just been a brief period, you probably need a good meal and some good rest. If it’s becoming a season of time where you’ve been feeling this way, unless you are experiencing medical issues, you need to beware of lazy trying to set in! People express their reasons and justifications for needing an extended break and some of them are indeed valid. The number one reason most express is, “I have been working so hard.” But, letting that become extended carries danger. It can lead us to a place we don’t want to come to. Feeling sluggish is one thing, but becoming lethargic sneaks up on people not realizing that it’s the outworking of caving into lazy behaviors that soon become like an anchor that gets heavier the more you allow it into your life.

I’ve said this before but it’s worth repeating. Your flesh loves lazy but being lazy is a curse. The book of Proverbs gives us insight to what the lazy person’s life will be like. Proverbs 10:4 tells us “Lazy people are soon poor; hard workers experience a richer life.” Proverbs 10:26 tells us “Lazy people are a pain to their employer. They are like smoke in the eyes or vinegar that sets the teeth on edge.” Proverbs 12:24 says, “Work hard and become a leader; be lazy and become a slave.” Proverbs 12:27 reveals the procrastination of the lazy saying, “Lazy people don’t even cook the game they catch, but the diligent make use of everything they find.” Proverbs 13:4 reveals that the lazy will often deal with jealousy and covetousness. “Lazy people want much but get little, but those who work hard will prosper and be satisfied.” Proverbs 18:9 reveals that lazy people can ultimately become dangerous to us. “A lazy person is as bad as someone who destroys things.“ The lazy person is the undisciplined person who makes endless excuses and is blind to their doing so. Proverbs 22:13 says, “The lazy person is full of excuses, saying, “If I go outside, I might meet a lion in the street and be killed!” At the end of the day, the lazy person’s life becomes a curse. Proverbs 15:19 says, “A lazy person has trouble all through life; the path of the upright is like a cleared path!“

What do you do when you’ve taken a break that has gone too far and you sense lethargy trying to set in? Some people dream of joining a health club or buying exercise equipment. Others set up some new disciplines they hope will get them back on track. Others begin to read and listen to people that motivate and inspire them. Any or all of these kinds of things can be good. But, getting started in them and continuing in them at a time you are feeling lethargic is the challenge. Like I said, lethargic feels like a heavy anchor.

For me, I know I need supernatural help from God. And I know where and how to get it. I am reminded of and take the advice found in Jude 1:20 that says, “But you, dear friends, build yourselves up in your most holy faith and pray in the Holy Spirit.”

The Holy Ghost has provided me with a gift that can be like a personal coach who leads, motivates, and strengthens me back to a good place. I pray in tongues. As I do, I seem to hear from the Lord better and find renewed strength to take steps toward a better place in the Lord.

Praying in the Spirit or in tongues helps you work through these kinds of times in a very supernatural way. In Acts 1:5 & 8 Jesus said, “For John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit. …But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you…” The power we receive is to live the Christian life wholeheartedly – the opposite of lethargy!

The Apostle Paul was one of the most powerful ministers of the gospel to ever live on this planet and he said, “I thank my God, I speak with tongues more than ye all.” (1 Cor 14:18.) In 1 Cor. 14:14-15 Paul continued to teach, “For if I pray in tongues, my spirit is praying, but I don’t understand what I am saying. Well then, what shall I do? I will do both. I will pray in the spirit, and I will pray in words I understand…” And Paul teaches in 1 Cor. 14:4 “A person who speaks in tongues is strengthened personally in the Lord…”

And so, there are many things I could do to get out of sluggish moments but the one I have the most confidence in is building myself up by praying in the Holy Spirit – praying in tongues. It’s a gift from God and one He knew we would need in this earth!

Jude 1:20 “But you, dear friends, build yourselves up in your most holy faith and pray in the Holy Spirit.”

If you would like a free book to help you learn more about the gift of tongues, write to: info@lwcc.org giving them your name and address and ask for the book Water, Wind, and Fire. I hope it will be of great blessing to you. I am confident it will help you with questions you may have about the Holy Spirit and the gift of tongues.

In His Love,
Pastor Tim Burt

Published by Pastor Tim Burt
Copyright© 2011 All rights reserved
https://todaysfreshmanna.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

