There is Nothing Ordinary About You!

Fresh Manna
by Pastor Tim Burt

1 Cor 3:3 “You are still worldly. For since there is jealousy and quarreling among you, are you not worldly? Are you not acting like mere men?”

Today’s Fresh Manna verse could really be perceived as an unusual verse if you studied it out. The Apostle Paul is talking to the Corinthian church and he says to them, “Are you not acting like mere men?” In the original Greek, acting means to walk out or conduct your daily business, and mere men simply means, as a human being. All together it says, “Are you not walking out your daily business as human beings?” Doesn’t this seem an unusual question? How else are people supposed to live out their lives but to “walk out their day as a human being?”

Paul is indicating that because we are “born again” and filled with the Holy Spirit, that living life as a mere human being is far below what God will help us live. Could this be true? It is! We are not to be “acting like mere men (or women.)” This is one of the greatest truths missing from the Christian church today. When we were born again, we were made new creatures in Christ (2 Cor 5:17.) According to the Word of God we were given the Holy Spirit to help us become partakers of God’s divine nature. Does that sound crazy? Then read it for yourself. 2 Peter 1:3-4″His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and goodness. Through these He has given us His very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the DIVINE NATURE and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.” Are you starting to understand why Paul said we shouldn’t live as “mere men.”

Part of the character of the Holy Spirit and the nature of God is strength to do what is right. We are indwelled with this strength so that we can resist sin and instead emulate Jesus. It helps us walk after Him in love, power and authority. We are the body of Christ in the earth given the calling to minister to the needs of those around us in our day-to-day life. We are instructed to give a helping hand, pray for others, share the good news of Jesus Christ, help others learn God’s word, bring hope and encouragement, and even lay our hands on the sick and pray for them. Does this sound intimidating? That’s why you need God’s supernatural help!

If you’ve ever tried to kick a habit or break patterns of wrong behavior, or if you’ve ever tried to consistently think, speak, and do the right things, you know how hard it can be. The Bible says that for people who haven’t received Jesus, they are snared by the power of sin. That’s why people can’t do things they know they should do. It’s why they do things they know they shouldn’t do. Those that haven’t received Jesus into their heart as Lord, don’t have the Holy Spirit or this inner strength. They are mere men (or women.) But we who have Jesus in our heart surely shouldn’t be!

After I received Jesus into my heart, I still walked as a “mere man” in many areas of my life for a long time. I didn’t know how to walk any other way. I had never read in the Bible about having been given “His divine nature.”

This truth was almost incomprehensible to me. “I’m a human being. How can I have a divine nature?” As long as I believed that, I didn’t have the power to change anything. I remained the same old pathetic powerless person that changed very little, despite Jesus in my life. Eventually God got through to me. I made a decision to believe what God was telling me in His Word. I believed that by God’s grace and the Holy Spirit working in me, I could participate in His divine nature. I purposed to believe that the Holy Spirit would give me the strength to change what I couldn’t change in myself. You know what happened? I began to change. Old habits began to fall off. I began to become a person of moderation which was truly a miracle of God! My thought life even began to change. I was able to learn to stop thinking wrong, wicked and evil thoughts. And even more importantly, I began to impact the lives of those around me for the Lord!

God has a tremendous plan for each and every one of us if we will just get over ourselves and give ourselves over to Him. If we will believe what He says, we can go beyond being just “mere men.” Then He can begin to do a mighty work in us and through us.

God isn’t waiting for you to be all cleaned up or perfect. That is a life long process. The Holy Spirit will help you be a light for Him and a touch of His love, hope, encouragement, and healing power today. Let Him help you help others all the while He is also helping you learn to walk in His divine nature! You are no mere man (or woman!) Can you say Amen!

Eph. 1:19-20 “I pray that you will begin to understand the incredible greatness of his power for us who believe him. This is the same mighty power that raised Christ from the dead…”

In His Love,
Pastor Tim Burt

Published by Pastor Tim Burt
Copyright© 2011 All rights reserved
https://todaysfreshmanna.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

