Part One: The Power of Devoting Yourself to God

Fresh Manna
by Pastor Tim Burt

In my walk with God, I have learned many life-changing truths. One of those times happened early in my Christian walk. My children were quite young at the time and I was desiring the wisdom to help them know the Lord in ways I never did. I grew up in a church but really only knew religious activities and prayers I’d learned to say with no thought behind them. I had never read the Bible and didn’t really feel that I knew the Lord personally. When I gave my life to Jesus, I became so hungry to read the Bible and learn of Him that I was like a person at a buffet wanting to heap my plate as high as I could.

There were multiple things I really desired of the Lord. As much as I was developing an intimate relationship with the Lord, I wanted to know Him even more. I also greatly hungered for my children to grow up knowing Him intimately – not religiously. I didn’t know how to make that happen. And then I wanted to know the direction God had for my life. I felt like I had a call of God on my life and yet I wasn’t sure what that was or how to know for sure.

I decided I was going to get up early each morning – around 5:00am and go out to our living room and read and pray and worship the Lord. I knew that if I sought the Lord, He would help me with what I was seeking Him for. I had that promise in John 14:26 which promised, “The Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.” I decided I was going to devote this early morning time to the Lord.

In the Old Testament, we begin to learn what devotion means. First let me give you a dictionary view. “Devotion: ardent, often selfless affection and dedication, as to a person or principle. The state of being devoted; addiction; eager inclination; strong attachment love or affection; zeal; especially, feelings toward God appropriately expressed by acts of worship; devoutness.”

This isn’t far off from the Biblical meaning. In Lev 27:28 we can get more insight to what God considered devotion to Him to be. We read, “But nothing that a man owns and devotes to the LORD–whether man or animal or family land–may be sold or redeemed; everything so devoted is most holy to the LORD.” This was part of the Levitical law and instruction to the Israelites in how to live before the Lord. This instruction was telling them that when they decided to devote something to the Lord, there was no taking it back. It no longer belonged to them but to the Lord. Even if it was something that was still in their possession (such as a field or an animal), if they devoted it to the Lord, it belonged to Him and they couldn’t take it back. This was true also of a vow. When someone made a vow in their heart to the Lord, they were supposed to keep it. God would bless this kind of dedication.

In 2 Chr 31:21 we read, “In everything that he undertook in the service of God’s temple and in obedience to the law and the commands, he sought his God and worked wholeheartedly. And so he prospered.” This verse is speaking of King Hezekiah. He established his kingdom on this kind of devotion to the Lord and God supernaturally blessed Hezekiah and the people of kingdom and delivered him from all the powerful enemies that surrounded him! Again it says, “He sought his God and worked wholeheartedly. And so he prospered.”

I wanted to devote this time in the morning to the Lord to get up and read and pray and worship Him wholeheartedly. As I walked this out, wonderful things began to happen which I will continue to share with you in subsequent writings.

In the meantime, for today, hold onto this truth. When we devote ourselves wholeheartedly to God, it sets us free from wrong motives. We draw back from doing things simply for appearance sake or to please others. Instead we do the things we do out of a pure love for God and others. And God blesses us greatly for devoting our heart and time to Him! Tomorrow I’ll share that experience I started telling you about at the beginning….

Eph 6:5-7 “Be servants in obedience to those in authority over you with respect and fear, and with sincerity of heart, just as you would obey Christ. Obey them not only to win their favor when their eye is on you, but like servants of Christ, doing the will of God from your heart. Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men.”

In His Love,
Pastor Tim Burt

Published by Pastor Tim Burt
Copyright© 2013 All rights reserved

https://todaysfreshmanna.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

