Part Two: The Power of Devoting Yourself to God

Fresh Manna
by Pastor Tim Burt

I gave my life to the Lord, receiving Jesus as my Savior at the age of 24. Early on in my young walk with God, I was seeking God for three things that were very important to me. I felt this great desire to become more intimate with God. I had an intense desire to help my young children to know the Lord. And finally I wanted to know and understand more about this call of God I thought I felt upon my life. I had read about Abraham and why God had chosen Him as the one to establish a covenant with. We see it in  Gen 18:18-19. “Abraham will surely become a great and powerful nation, and all nations on earth will be blessed through him. For I have chosen him, so that he will direct his children and his household after him to keep the way of the LORD by doing what is right and just, so that the LORD will bring about for Abraham what he has promised him.”

These verses are so powerful in so many ways. First of all, Abraham had to have been a seeker of God that was unparalleled at that time. It wasn’t like He had a written Bible at that point.  At some point, like all human beings, he began to seek to know the God whom he knew in his heart existed. Abraham was a seeker and it pleased God! Proverbs 8:17 (NIV) says, “I love those who love me, and those who seek me find me.” Jeremiah 29:13 (NIV) says, “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”  God did what He does with anyone that truly and sincerely seeks Him – God revealed Himself to Abraham.

We don’t know all that God revealed to Him but we do know that Abraham developed a heart devoted to seeking God. These verses spoke to each of the things I was seeking God for. It showed me that when you are willing to worship and seek God, He will reveal Himself to you more and more. Jesus confirmed that in Mat 5:6 saying, “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.” Then it showed me that God chose Abraham because he would teach and direct His children and household to know Him and His ways. That desire was intense within me. Finally these verses talked about the plan of God for Abraham’s life. The three things I was seeking God for were addressed regarding Abraham. I knew God would address them for me.

I made the decision to begin to get up at 5:00 am and go into my living room and read the Word, worship the Lord, and pray – daily. As I did, some interesting thing began to happen. First let me say that prior to this time, Renee and I had been reading to each of our children daily from the time they were six months old. We had bought some children’s Bibles that were specifically for young children. I’d put Stephanie on my lap at night and read the same book to her over and over each night. When I first started doing this, she was six months old and more interested in eating the book (sometimes she tried) than listening to it. But it didn’t take long for her to begin to enjoy our reading the same stories to her over and over again.  I’m sure being that young, she didn’t understand anything at first but, the repetition was impacting her. When she was just shy of two years old I had an experience that astounded me.

One night I was reading to her. It had been a long day and I was so tired I could hardly keep from passing out. As I started the second story I thought, “I’m just going to read the first and last sentence of each story to her. She won’t know the difference.” She had gotten used to me reading her the whole book and I knew I wouldn’t be able to stay awake that long. As I begin to read skipping quite a bit of the story, she stopped me. She was quite articulate for not being two yet. She said, “Dad, that’s not it!” I said, “What do you mean honey?” She said, “That’s not how the story goes.” I said, “Well then, how does the story go?” She began to recite the entire story word for word from the pages. My mouth almost dropped to the floor. We had been reading her this book almost daily for over a year but I had no idea a child was capable of this. I turned to the next story and said, “What does this say?” She recited the entire story word for word. There were about 12 stories in the book and she knew each one word for word.

I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. I screamed to Renee, “Renee, did you know that Stephanie can quote every word in this book by heart?” She said, “Oh yea, I’ve known it for a little while. I forgot to tell you.” At that point, Renee and I realized the power of reading and consequently read to each of the kids every night from then on. We made the Library our home away from home.

I told you this story to help you see that I didn’t know that what I was doing was ministering to my children to the degree it was. Because my heart was desirous to teach them about the Lord, He was leading me even though I didn’t realize it. In beginning to understand what a child was capable of learning, it only increased my desire to put more of God in them. I knew the Lord would continue to lead me in how I would do that.

Tomorrow I will share more of what happened when I began to get up early, seek God, and pray. Today just know that when your heart’s desire is to draw close to the Lord – to know Him and to share Him with your children or with anyone else, God is there to help you. Of all things He wants you to succeed at, its this! More about devoting yourself to God tomorrow…

Deu 6:6-7 “These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.”

In His Love,
Pastor Tim Burt

Published by Pastor Tim Burt
Copyright© 2013 All rights reserved

https://todaysfreshmanna.wordpress.com/

2 thoughts on “Part Two: The Power of Devoting Yourself to God

  1. Thank you for this great post…..God was talking to me about this today. Although my children are grown and I didn’t do exactly as much reading as you have done, He’s still asking me to seed into their lives and not to stop.

    Your kindness and life story is inspiring.

    Thanks and may God’s love and blessings continue to flow through your life and ministry.

Leave a Reply

