The Rewarding Life

Fresh Manna
by Pastor Tim Burt


A simple truth: when you are younger, life seems long. When you get older, it feels like time has flown by and life is short. God’s Word amplifies this truth. Psalm 144:4 says, “For we are like a breath of air; our days are like a passing shadow.” Job 14:2 says “Like a flower, we blossom for a moment and then wither. Like the shadow of a passing cloud, we quickly disappear.” Psalm 39:4 says, “Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be. Remind me that my days are numbered, and that my life is fleeing away.”

Jesus taught that one day “Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will not pass away.” (Matt 24:35) When Jesus said this, He was speaking literally. One day this world as we know it will be changed by Him. What He said would never change is His Word. We can count on every word He has instructed us with to come to pass. So, life is short, time does pass quickly, and one day we will look back and reflect on how lived our short and fleeting life for Him.

Life is full of distractions. Satan works to make the world and sin appealing—all to distract us, draw us in, and to get us to forget about anything to do with the purpose we were put on this earth for—the plan of God.

The Apostle Paul spoke about it when he was teaching single people of the blessing and advantage they could have if they would stay focused on serving the Lord. He taught them that marriage is good, but full of distractions. (He was demeaning marriage by any means. Just discussing the reality of distractions within a marriage.) In 1 Cor. 7:30-35 (NLT) the Apostle Paul said, “Happiness or sadness or wealth should not keep anyone from doing God’s work. Those in frequent contact with the things of the world should make good use of them without becoming attached to them, for this world and all it contains will pass away. In everything you do, I want you to be free from the concerns of this life. An unmarried man can spend his time doing the Lord’s work and thinking how to please Him. But a married man can’t do that as well. He has to think about his earthly responsibilities and how to please his wife. His interests are divided. In the same way, a woman who is no longer married or has never been married can be more devoted to the Lord in body and in spirit, while the married woman must be concerned about her earthly responsibilities and how to please her husband. I am saying this for your benefit, not to place restrictions on you. I want you to do whatever will help you serve the Lord best, with as few distractions as possible.”

This isn’t a discourse by Paul about not getting married. And he is not saying that if you are married, will you be less spiritual or pleasing to God. It’s about understanding that life is short, the world competes for your heart, and life is chuck full of distractions that seem to grab too much of our time and attention. For far too many, living for God gets pushed way back on the priority list when it should be the main thing—the core value of your life.

Thank God you can live your life wholeheartedly for the Lord whether married or single. I’m married, have four children and six grandchildren so far. The world tries to draw me in too. I try never to lose sight of the fact that time passes quickly. The things the world places importance on really don’t matter much. My life was given to me as a gift to serve God. What I do for Him from a sincere heart will never lose its reward in this life or in the life to come. For that reason, I desire to let my fast-moving life not be distracted, but instead filled with ways to exalt the love of Jesus and find ways to influence others with that touch of His love. When that is your heart, He always leads you in the way and opens that door. After all, He does want all men to be saved and come to the knowledge of the saving grace and love of Jesus! Let’s be focused together and let Him lead us into wonderful moments and places that count!

Matthew 16:27 “For the Son of Man is going to come in His Father’s glory with His angels, and then He will reward each person according to what he has done.”

In His Love,
Pastor Tim Burt 



Published by Pastor Tim Burt
Copyright© 2014 All rights reserved

https://todaysfreshmanna.wordpress.com/

2 thoughts on “The Rewarding Life

  1. For some of us, being busy doing good is the distraction. We can get so busy with ministries and programs that we neglect both time with God and time with our families. I have to remind myself that I don’t have to attend every baby shower, ladies luncheon, or even Bible study. I need to have balance in all things, so that I nurture my relationship with God, as well as my relationship with my husband.

  2. It can be so easy to be completely distracted from focusing on God. One of my biggest distractions is seeing how other don’t treat me how I want to be treated. So I will focus on how much they are not serving God, when in thinking and acting on that, I am doing that very thing! At times I do frustrate myself with this circular mindset. Thus I am so thankful for God’s graceful convictions working at my heart.

    Life is so short, so we shouldn’t waste it in distractions from living life to the fullest for God’s love and glory.

    And I completely agree that Paul is not saying that Christians should not get married. There is a book, called Sacred Marriage, that I find so helpful in using marriage to know Christ better.

Leave a Reply

