Intimacy With God

Fresh Manna
by Pastor Tim Burt

I love having intimate time with the Lord. Sometimes that happens in the middle of the night when I have awoken wide-awake and can’t fall back to sleep. Instead of fretting over a loss of sleep, I read my bible, pray and spend time thanking God for every good thing in my life. Not only is that time special, but in short order, it brings me  to where I can easily fall back asleep. I have many places and times and atmospheres where I have intimate time with the Lord. I’ve created a place in my garden, a  couple of places in my home and frankly, I can turn just about any place into an atmosphere of intimacy with Him.  I can because I’ve learned how important it is to be able to pause and bring Him into every situation.

I read His Word expecting God to speak to my heart through it, in relevance to my life. I pray the promises He reveals in His Word with great confidence, knowing that Heaven and earth will move because God is faithful! These three verses from God produce great confidence and intimacy. 1 John 5:13-15 (NLT) “I have written this to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, so that you may KNOW you have eternal life. And we are confident that He hears us whenever we ask for anything that pleases Him. And since we know he hears us 

Like anyone, I can have those moments where I want to experience intimacy with God but my mind is too preoccupied with the all that is going on around me. In those moments, I can feel like I am talking to myself more than it feeling like special time with God. I want to feel that intimacy but for whatever reason I don’t. Years ago as a younger Christian, I might have panicked and thought, What’s wrong? Why am I not feeling God’s presence in the same way. Did I do something wrong? God are you mad at me? Am I out of God’s will? and on and on. Now I know better. God never leaves me. He never forsakes me. To the contrary, His word teaches me, “Draw close to God, and God will draw close to you.” (James 4:8)

When we purposely draw near to God with the hopes of Him drawing near to and speaking to us, we have to remember the primary way God speaks to us. He primarily speaks to us through His Word. When Jesus taught His disciples to pray, “Give us this day our daily bread…” He was not teaching them to pray for food or provision. He was teaching them to meditate on the scriptures—His Word, and listen for the Word of God to speak to their hearts each and every day. Why? Because we need help, direction, correction, peace, and a power boost in our life every day. That is what the Word of God is to us! Hebrews 4:12 (NIV) says, “For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.”

Spending time in the Word gives God place to bring His Word to your remembrance through His Holy Spirit. It is through His Word rising up in your heart, that those special and intimate times come.

So, even when I am in the grinding-it-out times during busy periods in my life, I may or may not feel the goosebumps or special moments I’d love to sense when I am spending time with God. But, I have no doubt that the Lord is with me, that He hears every word, and that He appreciates that I live by faith and not by feelings in good times and bad. He never changes and I cannot let feelings dictate my faith. I let faith dictate my feelings.  And so, as I did today, I will continue to sing to Him, pray, and meditate on God’s word and His great love for me and each of you as I pray for us all.  Spending time with God is special whether if “feels” intimate or not and whether I get goosebumps or not. It’s simply great to spend time with the Lord!

Psalm 73:28 “But as for me, how good it is to draw near to God! I have made the Sovereign Lord my shelter, and I will tell everyone about the wonderful things He does.”

In His Love,
Pastor Tim Burt 


Published by Pastor Tim Burt
Copyright© 2014 All rights reserved

https://todaysfreshmanna.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

