The Joy and Power That Comes From Worshipping God

Fresh Manna
by Pastor Tim Burt

Recently I was driving in my car and saw something that I’ve seen a hundred times—something that made me smile. I saw a gal rocking out in her car. She was moving and singing like she was on stage. How many times has this happened to you? You look up in your rear view mirror or over in the car next to you and notice someone singing away. It always puts a smile on my face. Don’t we all get just a tad more uninhibited when we are in our alone places?

People talk to themselves all the time. We talk to ourselves. We sing to ourselves. We argue or get mad at ourselves or someone else when there is no one else present. Instead of just talking to myself, I’d rather talk, pray and sing to the Lord—especially in the car. My alone time in the car is a great place of solitude. And only the Lord appreciates my singing! He gets an earful when He and I have alone time in my car!

David would often reflect on the Lord’s goodness and love. He would often sing about the Lord’s glory and his love for the Lord. We see this in many of the Psalms. Psalm 89:1 NIV says, “I will sing of the Lord’s great love forever; with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations.” In Psalms 59:16 NLT we see David singing, “But as for me, I will sing about your power. Each morning I will sing with joy about your unfailing love. For you have been my refuge, a place of safety when I am in distress.” Not only was David worshipping the Lord, he was building and strengthening his personal faith by remembering who and all that the Lord was to Him.

Ephesians 5:19-21 KJV exhorts us saying, “Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord; giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ…”

The Lord alone is worthy of our praise! Learning to sing words of thanksgiving to God from your heart can be a continuing and awesome way to share your thanks to the Lord and bring you into His very presence! And if you haven’t realized this, worshipping the Lord is a form of prayer! Find and learn songs that are music to scripture and it will teach you His Word! Then you’ll have songs to worship Him but you’ll also be putting His word in your heart!

Worshipping the Lord will help you in other ways also. Psalms 8:2 teaches us that praise stills the enemyPsalm 8:2 (TLB) says, “You have taught the little children to praise you perfectly. May their example shame and silence your enemies!” If little children can still the enemy, so can you! Praise quiets your mind and emotions. It helps you detach from the cares of this world while focusing on God. It stills the voice of the enemy who is always trying to discourage you and steal your hope!

I started to make up and sing songs of thanks to the Lord from my heart years ago. Now I sing to the Lord from my heart almost daily. (I’m a closet singer and songwriter. No real talent—just love to do it!) The ways in which it draws you close to the Lord and transforms your heart is beyond words!

Psalms 5:11 (NLT) “But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them sing joyful praises forever. Spread your protection over them, that all who love your name may be filled with joy.”

In His Love,
Pastor Tim Burt

If Fresh Manna is a blessing to you, let me know how. I’d love to hear from you!  Write me at: FreshMannaFeedback@comcast.net


Would you like to know more about how Pastor Tim is reaching the world? Would you like to help or even partner with us?  Click here and Learn More… 

Published by Pastor Tim Burt
Copyright© 2016 All rights reserved

https://todaysfreshmanna.wordpress.com/

 

One thought on “The Joy and Power That Comes From Worshipping God

Leave a Reply

